Coconut Protein Cakes

Spring is here and it always puts me in the mood for clearing out, whether it be the closet, the cupboards or the freezer. I don’t like storing things for too long, if I haven’t touched, thought or used the item for more than 1 year, it’s out the door! Some may think that’s dangerous but I like a clean, clear, clutter free home.

As for these lovely, healthy, grain free, egg free, ok ok, RAW Coconut Protein Cakes, they came from a few half opened packs of ingredients lying around the cupboard for ages. So before they turn bad, start sprouting legs and walking out the door, I turned them into delicious little cakes formed and frozen in a muffin tray.

2016-04-23 16.03.33

Easy to make, just gather all your ingredients into a big bowl.

20 medium/large saudi dates, which I roughly snipped with a kitchen scissors

250g dessicated coconut, option to roast first for a deeper nutty flavour

1 cup protein powder, option for vanilla flavour

1/2 cup coconut oil

440ml coconut cream

1/2 cup maca

1/2 cup soy milk

1 cup dried papaya and pineapple puree (which I rehydrated and pureed)

Mix them all up well, scoop into moulds, whatever you have, muffin trays or a bake tray which you can slice up later on.

2016-04-23 16.02.43

Put in the freezer for a few hours or overnight. Take out an hour before enjoying them to soften up or place the cakes in the fridge overnight to enjoy the next morning.

**(I tasted them when I made them and after I thawed them for this morning, I have to say they were much better eaten the same day they were made before going into the fridge or freezer. Very caramely, almost buttery, rich, creamy, dense flavour and texture. Oh so damn good)**

It has a caramel, blondie smell and flavour which is really nice and comforting. Tastes naughty but it’s not too bad for you. Enjoy these coconuty cold blondies before or after a workout and feel better in yourself!

