Fruit Mince Cake

Just to tickle the nostrils and stimulate the tastebuds, Christmas is just around the corner if you didn’t realise it already. I decided to make this super delicious and dense fruit mince cake that I so preciously carried back from New Zealand, my favourite Tasti brand available countrywide. When I opened the tub, oh the spirit of Christmas overcame me and I had the biggest smile on my face that morning.

As a little pre Christmas treat for breakfast, I decided to use the fruit mince and have it for the week’s breakfasts, of course making it with healthier substitutes.

image

Again, no real measurements, it’s all by feel and touch. I’m so glad it came out lovely and dense.

1 1/2 cups rye flour
1 cup glutinous rice flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp cinnamon powder
400ml fruit mince, pre made
6 whole eggs (my eggs are small)
400ml coconut milk + 300ml~more milk, to create a thickish batter

Preheat oven to 180degC.

1.  Mix all the dry ingredients together first.
2.  Beat the eggs until frothy, add the coconut milk and mix well.
3.  Slowly add in the dry mixture spoonfuls by spoonfuls and finally add in the fruit mince and mix well.
4.  Add more milk/liquid as you stir continuously. You might not use all 300ml, or depends on the rye flour used, you might need more.
5.  In a greased baking container and into a preheated oven for about 1hr 10~20min or when stick comes out clean.

I actually underbaked my cake slightly to get that moist and dense texture. Afterall, there’s nothing in the ingredients that will poison you. I love my eggs soft and underdone anyway! It’s all good.

Let the cake sit and rest, cool down before taking out from the container, it will fall apart if you take it out immediately. Also the moisture from the heat will keep it dense.  These are all my observations. I am by no means a professional. Yours might be different to mine considering my measurements are not accurate. But please remember to have fun and always experiment outside the box. You’ll always be surprised with the outcome and it’ll mostly be positive.

