Wholesome Chocolate Cocoa Mint Walnut Cake

My adventures with breakfasts are getting more and more inventive and creative, using inspiration from several recipes that I’ve come across. My current trend of cooking and eating is a mixture of wholegrains, paleo and vegetarian/vegan. Most of my creative cooking and baking are natural, no added sugars and very earthy. I love using rye, spelt and chickpea and have recently noticed a big bag of unopened purple corn meal in the cupboard up high above! I’ve got an idea for a breakfast recipe that hopefully will be ok to create a raw breakfast bar.. my recipe is already written down in my journal!

This Chocolate Cocoa Mint Cake is quite ok for breakfast considering the ingredients and I had to cut alot of the normal ingredients out to make this one ok. It came out really lovely, dense, not so sweet and really earthy because it was made with predominantly rye flour and several other mixes. I never measure anything, I only measure by how it feels and how it looks. That’s the way I remember my mum making quick pancake mixes by texture and visual estimates. From that day onwards I followed the same. I never measure anything!

image

2015-09-26 08.25.20

Ingredients (from memory and estimate)
250g crushed walnuts
400g chocolate mint bars (70% cocoa)
100g cocoa powder
1 cup rye flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup rice flour
2 tsp baking powder
3 eggs
400ml Coconut Milk (or coconut cream)

Method
1. Melt the chocolate mint bars with the can of coconut milk or coconut cream. Leave aside to cool.
2. Mix walnuts, cocoa powder and flours together.
3. Lightly beat the 3 eggs and then add the dry mix in with the eggs, folding and stiring as you go.
4. Add the melted chocolate into the batter and mix well. If the mixture is too dry, add some more milk or coconut oil to moisten the batter abit more. The mixture should be runny thick.

