Black Glutinous Rice Pudding – Easy, Fast and Comforting

It’s been a while since I’ve written a post, but since creating this dessert and posting it on Facebook, I’ve had several people requested the recipe (which I don’t normally post because nobody actually takes the time to make them, they just enjoy looking at pictures) and also I’ve never had quite so many thumbs up for anything I’ve posted before. I’ve also been trying to play around with my photography and I’m slowly learning as I go, and I’m quite proud of this one I have to say. Learning to change settings, layout, backdrop etc. It’s quite fun. It doesn’t have to be a chore, it doesn’t have to be fancy, just take the time to enjoy what you like doing right?

image

wpid-2015-08-18-16.51.41.jpg.jpeg

So, this is a really quick recipe that I created, looking through a few other existing ones out there, I’ve created this beauty with only 3 ingredients. It will take over 2 days but trust me, it’s easy and effortless.

Ingredients:
1 cup black glutinous rice (soak in 4 cups of water)
400ml coconut milk
300ml water (I used back the coconut milk can and filled it 3/4 with water)
3 tbsp coconut sugar (less or more if you like)

options: 1 pandan leaf & 1 tsp cinnamon powder (make it abit more exotic)

What to do:
Day 1. Soak the glutinous rice in water overnight for at least 8hours.
Day 2. Wash and drain water, place in pot and bring together the coconut milk and water and mix well with rice. (add the pandan leaf if you’re using it, tie into a knot and crush slightly).
Step 3. Cook with medium heat on the stovetop for about 30min. Test the grain, it should be soft bit a slight bite. Add coconut sugar, to taste, and cinnamon (if using).
Step 4. When you’re happy with the doneness, turn off heat and leave to cool. Pour out in containers and cool in the fridge.
Step 5. Serve with more coconut milk on top and a pinch of salt. Apparently the salt brings out the taste of the coconut milk like you’ve never tasted before!

Enjoy it cold if you’re enjoying summer now or for our friends down south, enjoy it warm/hot next to your heater or fireplace!

Extra note: If you want to truly impress yourself or your friends and family, you can use coconut cream instead, whip it up and serve like a meringue, sky high! Oh you’ll love the attention it will attract, a big pat in the back for effort! 🙂

