Korean Style Soy Curls

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

b4

I’ve been exploring Korean cuisine this week. I am so pleasantly surprised to find recipe websites featuring vegan Korean food. My favorite is a blog right here on WordPress!

I found this delicious recipe at Vegan 8 Korean. It’s a vegan version of the classic Korean Bulgogi, a flavorful sesame-soy garlic marinated meat dish. The soy curls lend themselves so well to this dish with their firm yet tender texture, absorbing the flavors perfectly.

The recipe is very quick and easy, too–less than 30 minutes from prep to stovetop to table.

soak

Cover the soy curls with hot water and soak for about 10 minutes, while preparing the rest of the ingredients and start the rice cooking (if using).  Drain curls and allow to cool for a couple minutes, then squeeze out the excess water.

marinate

Mix up the marinade ( I added a teaspoon of Korean red pepper powder for…

View original post 40 more words

