Easter Hot Cross Buns (GF), French Loaf and Lamb Roast

Plenty of “firsts” in this post and I am so glad I decided to do them! Catching up on this month (at least), Easter just passed over our lives and again, through the “peer pressure” of all the gorgeous food blogs out there with their Easter feasts, I decided to make one for our own too. Having NOT done anything special for Easter before, except to know that God died and rose again, I decided to get my bum into gear and make some Hot Cross Buns, which I have never done before.

Yes, it is my first time ever and I chose a gorgeous simple gluten free recipe, didn’t hurt that they were super easy and quick, I made Hot Cross Buns and an unleavened French Loaf for our Easter meal.

Mia’s Domain’s gorgeous recipes was the favourite choice for the Gluten Free Hot Cross Buns and Daily Diet Tribe for the super easy and quick 5-Ingredients French Loaf.

2013-03-30 13.55.40 2013-03-30 13.56.41

So happy and proud of my effort, I even threw in the cross at the top! No more being lazy… I did however put in a few different ingredients as to cater to what we prefer and what we had in the larder and they turned out oh so delicious! I couldn’t believe it, seriously! Un-Be-Li-Va-Ble! More below… but first…

Classic French Loaf

2013-03-30 14.03.32a 2013-03-30 14.05.23a

5 Ingredients? Count me in!

Gluten Free, Sugar Free, Yeast Free, Dairy Free and Egg Free! I’m making this!

Haha, what else is left to put in there then?!

Take a look at the website, MAKE IT, and enjoy it. I added Buckwheat Flour, that’s why it’s dark.

Oh, the earthy flavour, crumbs and all were something to get used to, but I got used to it pretty quick. Down the hatch it went within 2 days. Yup, I loved it and yes, I will make it again FOR SURE.

As for the Hot Cross Buns, a few substitutions and (killing) of the yeast, these beautiful hot cross buns turned out to be Hot Cross Muffins that we cake-like rather than bun/bread-like which was fine with me because I haven’t had cake for such a long time that I could enjoy and on the plus side, the look on my husband’s face when he took his first bite was utterly priceless.

He was speechless. I stared for the longest time and when he finally swallowed, he said:

“It took me back to my childhood when my grandma would make us bread pudding when we were kids…”

“Oh really?” I said

“Yup, the density, the taste, the buttery taste, everything, just took me back to my childhood” he said.

2013-03-30 14.48.24a 2013-03-30 14.48.08a

Wow, I was honored. I was so happy to be able to give that experience to my husband and share Easter with him.

The texture was amazing, thick, dense, cake-like, sticky, chewy, just utterly amazing.

Don’t let the glutenfree/sugarfree/etc scare you off. It is really amazing. Do try it. I am! And I’m sure my husband would want me to make these beauties again. I just couldn’t resist them, they were gone within 2 days. I dug into the crust, left the insides but then would run back and finish the whole thing off! I just love crust, I would just de-crust anything baked that I can get my hands on! I think next time I would just spread it out thinly and enjoy Hot Cross Crisps! Now that’s an idea! *ping*

Easter Roasted Leg of Lamb

2013-03-31 18.30.20

In my amazing Ikea roast pan, I cut up:

Carrots

Eggplant

Onions

Daikon

Garlic

Rosemary & Thyme

Roasted for 1.5hrs under 180degC heat and enjoyed with a side of roasted NZ pumpkin.

2013-03-31 18.38.46

with a side of brown gravy and/or…

2013-03-31 18.39.18

a side of mint green Indian chutney! YUM!

We haven’t had lamb for the longest time, being that we have to travel to actually buy lamb, I decided that this is the time to have it and so off I sent my husband to carry back a leg of lamb and some lamb galbi pieces from the Foreign Food Mart. Expensive, but worth it.

We just ate in silence.

Digging into a beautiful meaty roast over 2 dinners.

Another trip is definitely going to happen soon!

BUT, my vow for my next “firsts” would definitely be trying out more seafood dishes and ingredients. I’ve always been scared of seafood but not anymore. What is your favourite seafood ingredient and dish? I heard Italians do it the best!

