One Korean Ingredient Hosting World Flavours

What to cook?

What to eat?

What shall we have for dinner?

Those are the questions that goes through my head every night, every day, every moment. Lately I’ve been very lazy and complacent, coming up with random dishes at the very last minute only with ingredients from the fridge. I am not very good with my meals any more like I used to be in Dubai. Oh how I miss those days.

However, all is not lost with this post, simple it may seem but it was a big challenge and a huge success with fusions and on the spot thinking and use of ingredients in my fridge!

I got this idea for the hundreds of blog posts I subscribe to and one heading stood out to me, “…the best garlic bread you’ll ever taste…” so I followed the recipe and method and me being me, I added my twist to it. I had a big bag of fermented garlic in the fridge and putting 2 and 2 together, I thought these 3 would go so well together.

On tonight’s Dinner Menu:

Italian Roasted Vegetable Soup + French & Korean Garlic Bread + Not Your Traditional Tabouleh

Fresh – Fantastic – Fabulous! OMGness, you cannot doubt the freshness and the availability of produce in this country, of course you’ll have to leave everything you know and rely on behind and get in with the local programme! My frustrations early on in this country was the lack of produce and products that I was familiar with as well as how seasonal this place is. In Dubai, everything is available year in and out from all over the world, that’s why I could make all sorts and what nots to my own liking and whenever I wanted to. It was that simple and easy. Over here, it’s totally different and no way as easy and available year round which is definitely much more sustainable and eco and environmentally friendly… I do miss my green apples though. I can only enjoy them in summer for 3 months, then they disappear out of my life, until the next summer!! 😦

Anyway, back to the super freshness and fantastic fabulousness of this dish, I picked up some fresh parsley and from there on, started putting together a fab tabouleh because parsley to me just screams out Tabouleh!

Super Ingredients:

Big bunch of parsley, chopped

2-3 tbsp mung beans, precooked

2-3 tbsp french lentils, precooked

10-15 cherry tomatoes, halved

1 medium red onion, chopped

8 cloves of roasted garlic, chopped

5 cloves of fermented Korean garlic, chopped

5 tsp fresh ginger, chopped

3 fresh green/red chillies, sliced and chopped

1 bunch of fresh coriander, chopped

1 lemon, juiced

Mix and Toss with love and Care to enjoy Deliciously!

Korean French Garlic Bread Toast

I am particularly excited and proud of this one. I came up with this just from what I read and what I saw in the fridge, an experimentation with flavours from tasting both in separate occasions. Personally, fermented Korean garlic tastes very similar to balsamic vinegar – sweet, sour and tart – curiously without much taste of the garlic itself. So I decided to give this one a go since the base of my Italian Roasted Vegetable Soup was balsamic vinegar. What better to accompany a warm thick soup with some crispy golden crunchy garlic toast?!

5 cloves Korean fermented garlic, minced

5 cloves roasted garlic, minced

1 tbsp butter/margarine

Mix together and spread generously on a butter fried bread and watch the garlic butter melt on the golden toast! Ohhh…

ps: Do you know or have you heard of fried bread? this is one from my childhood days where we butter both sides of a slice of toast and then fry it on a pan. It’s that simple and so damn delicious! One that I would gladly bring back numerous times from my childhood days to be used in some fab way in my present days. I love sharing my childhood foods with my husband especially when this post is dedicated to him for just being who he is with me and thank you for sharing meals with me. With you, my days are complete and work and efforts fulfilled.

Dunk into a big bowl of warm Italian Roasted Vegetable Soup! The recipe is on this previous post… Enjoy! 🙂

