Hello Beautiful Deliciousness!!

Hello beautiful! I couldn’t help but make a record of this beautiful apple which was printed, stamped and approved by nature. I demolished it within seconds but not without photographing it first. Seriously it was the most beautiful apple I’ve come across so far and I felt so bad eating it, actually apologising at every bite!

Another beauty was this delicious dinner;

Tempeh Tikka Masala!

OMG, what a discovery. I’m quite sure I’m not the only one but what fun I had figuring this one out and giving it a go out of the blue. It’s so simple, easy and quick and super delish that I can’t tell you how much I wish you could have shared dinner with me that night (while frantically waving my arms in the air, like I just don’t care!)

All you need:

1 block of tempeh – grilled/panfried till brown, or if you’re like me, slightly burnt too!

(nothing measured after this)

Minced garlic and ginger (L.O.T.S)

Nice big bunch of Coriander

Fresh Chillies (with seeds of course)

Teaspoons of Tikka Masala mix (as you like it)

It will be dry so burnt it a little then at the last minute pour in some hot water (just some, watch it carefully) cos we still want the crunch in the Tempeh Chiplets. Mix nicely and gently and enjoy!

I savoured every bite, with my heart fluttering, a little smile on my face with every swallow but then, I felt sad… sad that I was such a pig when the plate in front of me suddenly became empty. I didn’t know what to do, I just sat there, staring at the empty plate… such a sad ending to a happy beginning… have you ever had that feeling?

I think… *no, wait* I know… I can eat that plate everyday, for the rest of my life. What is your favourite dish that will turn that frown upside down?

And speaking of a frown turned upside down…

A barely brown butter cake that turned into a Fresh Banana Pudding Pie! Who loves pudding? Who loves pie?

You know that famous restaurant? With a famous milk bar? You know what I mean? You’ve heard of them right?

Momo something… Momofuku (oi… no swearing please!)

Seriously, it’s Momofuku, I’m not swearing! It’s got an affiliated milkbar too and it’s super amazing, exciting and out of this world! The amazing stuff they have is so surreal and out of this world. So simple but yet so complicating!  And guess what? I thought I could handle it, oh yes I did.  I am going to make something from Momofuku Milkbar Cookbook that I have. Oh yes sir, I am.

But guess what? Just look at the picture below, I don’t want to say it, I didn’t say it, don’t you dare say it!  But of course, it was meant to be a pie base, of course it was! What were you thinking? *ahem* It was my fault for not reading the recipe before starting and not following through…

So I licked my wounds and turned the cake frown upside down! Of course I wasn’t going to throw it out, it was going to turn into something else that’s all. So I cracked my brains, looked into my cupboard and shelves, what do I have? what can I do to resurrect this beautiful cake?

And so with 3 simple ingredients from my cupboard and fridge, I turned my flop into freakin’ amazing Banana Pudding Pie.

Ignore the word (peach) in the photo please?

Bit of slicing here and chopping there (bananas);

Bit of measuring here (milk) and pouring there (instant pudding);

Bit of whisking here and snapping there (my digital SLR);

Bit of nail biting here and bead sweating there (my forehead);

And what’dya know? From sunrise to sunset, the pudding pie was done! This is my fabulously crazy complicated pie based, super easy quick put together banana slicing instant pudding pie I’ve ever made!

Will I be brave enough to actually follow the real recipe next time and from here too? (this is how it was suppose to turn out, courtesy of these two beautiful bakers (Sweet Peony and Big Fat Baker).

I’ll let you know… soon! I never back down from a challenge!

