Mid-Christmas Affair in July

Merry Christmas!

Yes, you heard me right, Merry Christmas!

In New Zealand, it is a tradition where we celebrate Christmas in the middle of the year because it is our winter (June-Aug) and wanting a Winter White Christmas, we celebrate Christmas in the middle of the year, hence the name Mid-Christmas Celebration. Betcha didn’t know that?!

So here it is, the Christmas Cake Wreath that I made from the goodies carried over with love from UK. And the special ingredient is of course Dried Mixed Fruits and Peel from Tesco! Can’t find them here together – but the closest I found was a tropical dried fruit mix that you have to chop up yourself, maybe a Tropical Christmas Cake next time? Sounds great actually! 😉 Anyway, without further ado, I’d like to introduce to you our Christmas Cake Wreath.

These shots were taken at night straight after it came out of the oven, hence the yellow warm lighting. I couldn’t help myself with a slice because like any good (actually greedy) baker, you always want to try your baking straight out of the oven. Just don’t burn your mouth on the way while gorging down a good big slice will ya! Man, did it taste good… blo*dy good I have to say – seriously!

I made this cake from my own ingredients, give and take a few ideas from a few different recipes. It is a vegan and gluten-free cake. I’d like to say fat free too but it’s got some small amounts of good fats in there. Here is the breakdown;

2 cups almond meal

3/4 cup buckwheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

500g mixed dried fruits, soaked for 1 week in pure orange juice (about 500-700ml)

1 cup of almonds

1 cup of walnuts

2 tbsp coconut oil and some more to line the pan

Method:

1. Mix and Bake for 1hr in a preheated 180degC heat oven.

For our Saturday morning breakfast with beautiful natural light…

With extra custard, thank you very much! Also carried with love all the way from UK, my husband’s ultimate vice. He has it with everything and anything!

And just to be cheeky this morning;

Breakfast before heading off to work! With a cup of cold Vietnamese Soy Coffee.

*good morning*

Banana Custard

Banana

Almonds and Pumpkin Seeds

A healthy slice of Christmas Cake

I’m in heaven… bite after bite after bite…

