Curried Savoury Muffins and a Healthy Summer Bounty

Muffin Time! Yes it is… whenever I feel like creating some ‘space’ in my overflowing cupboards, I get into my creative side and want to use up old ingredients that have been sitting on the shelf for too long! I am one of those people that just collects and collects and not use! I confess, I’m really really bad that way. So to justify and relieve my ‘guilty’ ways, I decided to make these gorgeous golden muffins with just whatever I had lying around for too long, just about to pass the ‘best by’ date!! OOPSIE! *still taste good though!*

I asked my husband what flavoured savoury muffins he would like and he mentioned a few, and buzzing through my head with what ingredients I had in hand, I decided to make cheese and onion muffins. I have cheese, onions, grains, etc at my disposal so easy peasy! Yes… I don’t have to go out and buy anything so that’s a massive score for me.

So, now down to the nitty gritty. Don’t worry, its super easy and fast too.

2 cups buckwheat

2 cups whole oats

2 cans of corn

4 medium onions, diced

2 cups Daiya cheddar cheese, cubed

olive oil

4 eggs

1 packet Japanese curry powder

1 1/2 cups raw cashews, lightly crushed

Method:

1. Soak the buckwheat and oats overnight. Rinse and wash the next morning and grind till smooth paste.

2. Caramelise the diced onions over the pan.

3. While the onions are cooling, dice the cheese, mix in the curry powder, crushed cashews, corn, eggs and 3 circles of olive oil in with the buckwheat and oat paste. Mix well.

4. Finally put in the onions and mix well.

5. Put equal spoonfuls into the muffin tray and bake for 30-40min over 180degC.

I guarantee they will come out golden brown, filling your home with the beautiful whiff of curry, cheese and onions… ah B L I S S… your family will love you for it!! BEAUTIFUL!

So I packed one with love, fresh out of the oven with a dollop of vegan butter, making my way down to see my husband…

To surprise him with a yummy side of Iced Latte! He did enjoy it, I think…

On my way home, I picked up a few packets of gorgeous summer fruits, plums, apricots, kiwis, nectarines and cherry tomatoes, so beautiful and fresh and gorgeous! Can’t wait to sink my teeth into them!

And for dinner…

Curried Savoury Muffins with Corn, Vegan Chilli Con Carne and Vegan Mince

Lettuce wrap and Chap Choy – my mother’s semi recipe! I love her Chap Choys, they are the best. With her chicken curry, these are the two dishes that I can eat forever!

YUM YUM YUM!!! All mine!

