Snow White and the Seven Ingredient Meals

I am going to confess, that I subscribe to over 500 food blogs, yes I do. I am a massive hoarder.. and my cookbook collection is probably up there somewhere too! I always buy cookbooks that are filled with images because when I read or see an image of something delicious, I remember it. Then I’ll concoct something similar up with whatever ingredients I have in my fridge. I do that just because I’m too lazy to go out to the supermarket or the ingredient might not be available, so not to feel disappointed!

What I read/saw when I made this dish was “Crispy Kale and Tofu Salad with Coconut” from the Food & Wine Daily which was originally posted by Heidi Swanson of 101 Cookbooks. I absolutely love Heidi’s food philosophy and thought, this recipe will not do me wrong. So I looked into my fridge, found a beautiful head of cabbage, some leftover mixed vegetables, tofu and a chicken breast meat. Lo and behold, this is my makeshift dinner, Crispy Cabbage and Tofu and Mixed Vegetable Salad with Shredded Chicken. YUM! It was my first try with “crisping” a leafy vege and I am very impressed! Totally blown away, I love the charred, smoky flavour with the cabbage and the crunchiness. It was simply torn cabbage leaves with some oil and salt and baked in the oven. I don’t know why I didn’t try this before. I’m in love…

And with that, some gorgeous pics outside my window in the lateness. This was a few weeks ago but I couldn’t wait to share the pictures, I absolutely love the snow!! That is when I’m safely in the comfort and warmth of my own home! 😉 Nature is beautiful this time of the year!

I will just add this one in at the end, the piece of resistance, my new found noodle craving! Yes, I finally tried it. I’ve procrastinated for too long and I’m so glad I decided to jump into it. Kelp and Konnyaku Noodles. They-are-the-Bomb! Now, I make noodles every time I get the chance. I love noodles!!!!!!

You can’t go wrong with this simple put together:

Onions, caramelised

Cabbage, shredded

Eggs, scrambled

Onions and ginger, minced

Soy sauce, sesame oil and some fish sauce

Kelp Noodles

Water

Lots of Lingham Chilli Sauce

Oh my goodness… food experimenting is just the best!!!! Don’t you feel proud of yourself when you just put 2 and 2 together to make a beautiful dish? Oh, the joy and pleasure of it all… I can tell you right now, the creativeness of food imagination will never end with me. I will keep on exploring, imagining, experimenting and have as much fun as I can. Come share with me at my table why don’t you?!

