Traffic Light Dinner

What a weird name for a post, but when I looked back at the pictures that I took of last night’s dinner, that was exactly it, the colours of a traffic light and boy where the colours amazing!

I think my husband should be glad that I love spending time strolling in supermarkets, better if it were a massive warehouse-y one like Costcos or Pak’n’Save instead of a mall, right? Nah, what am I saying, I love it all which is unfortunate for my husband! I tend to like a bit of everything which is my downfall as I cannot settle on just one thing, it has to be a bit of everything! Anyway, at one of my daily stroll through a local  supermarket, I was so thrilled to have found giant Kale leaves and I mean, GIANT Kale leaves. Since being here, I’ve started eating Kale whereas before, I could only read about it and wonder how it tastes like. The normal Kale leaves I’ve been having are normal sized ones but these ones are the size of an A3 paper, I kid you not. I had to get them, for the novelty of it, as they were only $1 more than the normal sized ones so I thought, what the heck!

I love using Kale leaves as wraps because they are ‘hardy’ and will not rip or tear easily, but being hardy, they are also hard to wrap! But once they go into your mouth, they are so delicious, crunchy and so lovely. I’ve had Kale in my green smoothies and they are gorgeous. My husband loved it too! What joy!

So my new resolution is to use all the hordings of pastes, powders, spices, jams, crumbs and what nots that I’ve collected over the years sitting in the cupboards, creating shelf bows, can you believe it?! Because what’s the point of collecting but not using and enjoying! I found a can of mexican refried beans and a box of Vadai powder mix in my cupboard and decided to get adventurous with them.

1 can of mexican refried beans

1 packet of Vadai powder mix

2 big handfuls of curry leaves, chopped

2 big onions, chopped

1 bulb of garlic, chopped

1 tbsp coriander

1 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp garam masala

2 eggs (optional)

breadcrumbs (optional)

egg wash (optional)

  1. Heat the oven at 180deg C.
  2. Add all the ingredients above together, with about 1/2 cup of water and mix well. Add 2 grinds of salt for taste and 2 rounds of extra virgin olive oil.
  3. Form into patties or round balls or quinelles, whatever you fancy and bake for 30min.

Options: You can roll the patties in egg and breadcrumbs at the end if you wish; or add 2 eggs into the mixture for better bonding and give it an egg wash just before putting it into the oven. A sprinkle of coriander or curry leaves on top would also give it a slightly exciting look!

And voila, out of the oven will come these lovely golden balls or patties just in time to feed those hungry mouths.

We had the last of the lovely chicken curry from last week (I made double batch with 3 whole chickens!) with some lovely fluffy rice but with the Indi-Mexican balls, we had them with cherry tomatoes and giant Kale leaves with a good lather of miso&sirancha sauce. Kinda like an infused Jap-Thai-Indi-Mexican ingredients in an Asian influenced wrap in one tiny bundle. Oh dear, a little too adventurous?? What do you think? Traffic Light Dinner sums it all up don’t you think?

The curry was still good, super tasty after the flavours have infused with each other for so long, I even dipped my wrap in the curry sauce for some extra oomph! Oh, stop me!

What do you think of the little cuties at the end of the gallery? They are mini apples! I know the picture doesn’t do it justice but they are the size of mandarins! I could eat the entire box in a blink of an eye. Wonder how they tastes like, tempted to get them but they were quite expensive for mini apples. A little novelty but I’m not that desperate! 😉

