>Mixed Peel Scones for Breakfast

>

Ever since we bought an extra bottle of lemon curd from Choitrams, my husband commented on several ways we could eat with the lemon curd and one of them was raisin scones for breakfast. The other was lemon meringue pie but I thought this was easier and quicker! They took me about 1hr to prepare and another 30min to bake them. So it was super quick and easy for me.

Get together:
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp vanilla essence
250g of mixed peel or raisins (just estimate as you go, if you like more or less peel/raisins)
1 egg
50g melted butter
5 tbsp milk

Just mix all the ingredients together and stir until well combined.
Make a long thick roll and slice into pieces or roll out onto a baking paper and cut with a rounded cookie slicer to form the traditional scone shape.
Evenly place on baking tray and bake for 30min under 190degC.

I doubled the ingredients to enjoy over several mornings but suffice to say, they were so fragrant, so delicious and oh so crumbly with warm butter and lemon curd – sweet, salty, crunchy, what a super awesome way to start the morning off. But having said that, I’ve had more than expected so many not so many mornings to enjoy?? Oh dearie me… Should I feel guilty? I think not.

