>Aubergine Spinach and Lentil Burger and Ba Kua Cheese Sammie

>

Last night’s dinner was a beauty I have to say. A combination of eastern, western and middle eastern combo.
Eastern – ba kua, lovingly sent from Malaysia;
Western – sammie style with cheddar cheese;
Middle Eastern – spinach lentil falafel with aubergine.
These little falafels took a bit of time to bring together.
2 cups black french lentils, cooked
2 bunches spinach chopped
2 cups gram flour or any flour or breadcrumbs
1 bulb garlic
4 medium onions
3 cm ginger
3 tbsp curry powder
1 tbsp garam masala
1/2 cup olive oil
salt and pepper

Combine all those ingredients above, or do them section by section if you don’t have a food processor big enough, mix well and form into balls. In the oven it goes with some sliced aubergine for 1.5hr under 190deg C heat.

And here you go, beautiful falafels (although it did ‘melt’ abit) delicious, hot and popeye goodness!

And for the ba kua sandwich, in the oven it goes for 10min until the cheese melts at the top. Crispy sweet ba kua with salty cheddar cheese and bread to even out the taste, what more can you ask for? Melted cheese just melts my heart and the smell, please… don’t even get me started. It makes me weak in the knees… can I just leave it as that?!

I layered the falafel, making a vege burger – layering the baked eggplant, spinach lentil falafel with some yoghurt and…

…topped with thai birdeye chilli sauce! Food purists out there, don’t look.. oh too late! Muahaha!! You can’t take me away from my chilli sauce! It goes with everything I eat – even if it doesn’t, my brain tells me that it does!!!!!!! Oooooohhh… just lovely. The work was worth it.

