>Lentil Chickpea Spinach Bake and Tuna Poppadoms with a Tahini Drizzle

>

For the past 2 days, we’ve been enjoying some new food that I concocted up from left overs and new found mouldy food hidden behind the larder! Just kidding! I’m one that likes to stock up on food and ingredients that are on sale eventhough I don’t know when I’m going to use them and I don’t think I’m alone. Having done a minor ‘spring clean’ of my larder, I found several packets of pulses and lentils hidden at the back of my larder and decided to come up with something new.
My husband had half of those lentils and chickpeas for his lunches last week and the left overs were added to create our dinners which were these cute lentil chickpea and tuna poppadoms and spinach bake. I used the lentil and chickpea mash to create two dishes.
This is the lentil chickpea and spinach layered bake which involved:
2 cups black french lentil, cooked
2 cups chickpeas, cooked
4 medium onions
1 bulb garlic
2cm ginger
2 bunches of spinach

Cook the lentils and chickpea, cool.  Place onions, garlic and ginger into a blender with the cooled chickpea and lentils and blend till smooth. Add oil or water to help the process. Some salt and pepper, voila, done. Layer it, mould it, make it into patties, balls, whatever you want, even wrap them up in filo pastry, it works any and every way.

And these are the lentil chickpea mash in poppadoms, layered with onions, cream cheese, lentil chickpea mash and topped with emmental cheese. The tuna poppadoms were just onions and tuna with a tahini drizzle.
(To soften the poppadoms, soak them in warm water first, then put in muffin tray).

I enjoyed my slice of lentil chickpea spinach bake with some scalded broccoli. I’ve recently decided that I’m going to eat broccoli as long as the price per kg is reasonable and lately, it has been reasonable! But of course I mix and match with the green leafy veges, being frugal and all that with the price hike!!! (not happy!) and topped with my favourite Thai bird’s eye chilli sauce.

Another little thing that excited us last weekend was that we found this little beauty! Park and Shop recently opened near our neighbourhood so we decided to do our week’s grocery shopping there and we were very surprised to find Sticky Maltloaf! We haven’t had it for years since Woolworths NZ stopped baking them and  so we bought 2 loaves! One’s already gone thanks to my healthy malty appetite, the 2nd is out from the freezer, thawing! It isn’t as sticky and malty as the one in NZ but it’s good enough to tickle our tastebuds.

And another find, young coconut for aed5.95 each? Wow, what a bargain!

We read in a magazine that Park and Shop boasts the best bakery and butchery and man, they were right (the bakery part anyway). My husband bought some Cornish Pasties, Steak and Kidney & Chicken Pies, Sausage Roll and some baps which he gave his approval to.  What more can you ask for when you see the expression on his face when he bit into the lovely crumbly pastries, oozing in warm thick gravy and chunks of filling? The prices were fair too… *think we will definitely be going back for more* (sorry no pictures as the pastries were consumed before I could pick up my camera!)
What have you guys found lately that’s tickled your fancy? When I find something that brings back memories or haven’t had for ages, I immediately buy them and to make things even sweeter is the prices aren’t too bad! Park and Shop will be our shop for these little goodies in the future!
