>Chicken Liver Curry with The Last of the Lentil Bakes

>

Following from my previous blog, we also found some lovely fresh chicken liver in the butchery calling out to us. Being low in iron lately and fed up of feeling cold all the time, I decided to get it and cook something strong with it. Chicken liver is one of my favourite dishes, malay style. I remember when we used to go to  our local Pasar Malam in Seremban, my dad would always buy a pack of dry chicken sambal curry that always comes with chicken livers. One day, oh one day I will attempt to try cook it… I’m sure I can because I remember how it looks like so be patient with me and I will cook it one day!

Oh I hope you know me by now, I like putting 2 and 3 together, 6 and 10 and what nots what nots, pairing and concocting up the most weird and wonderful…(my husband will look at me with utter worry when I use the word concoct) because it’s something new to him and he likes to stick to what he knows…*hhmm* so opposite to me… but I make things interesting? Right? um.. wrong!

So this dish consists of:
1 pack of chicken liver
1 medium aubergine, diced
4 medium fresh tomatoes,diced
1 can of diced tomato in natural juices
6 medium onions, diced
1 bulb of garlic, sliced
3 tbsp curry powder
1 tsp chilli powder
Salt and Pepper

  1. Fry garlic and onions in some oil with the curry and chilli powder till golden and fragrant. Keep on cooking until onions are all wilted.
  2. Add the liver and stir fry till brown.
  3. Gently stir in the diced tomatoes and canned tomato and aubergine. Make sure it’s mixed well. Cover and simmer for about 30min on low heat. (I left mine to simmer for about 1hr to get the tomatoes and aubergine to melt away with the onions as I wanted a thick creamy consistency).
  4. Add in salt and pepper to taste and serve.

We enjoyed our liver curry with the last of the lentil and chickpea bakes each.

Since my husband cannot eat curries that are too spicy, I had some curry powder at the side to spice up my own dish. The golden powder and the smell of mixed curry spices really did it for me. I could have added some more chilli powder too as I fancy real spicy food, it literally causes me utter discomfort but by gosh, it is addictive… tell me otherwise! I’m a chilli addict… which is a good thing right?!

The chicken liver curry turned out gorgeous, although I simmered it for so long, I was very gentle when stirring the pot. The livers came out whole, soft, creamy and tender. I think we’ve only ever had liver once before so this was a real treat. My husband liked it which was good, he couldn’t remember the first time we had it… nevermind. Glad he ate it though otherwise I’m left with a big pot of chicken liver curry to have for the rest of the week!  Dinner tonight? Left over chicken liver curry, a side of fried tofu topped with crumbed chicken breasts. Yummo!

