>Delicious Dinners of Mung Bean Green Curry Style and Thai Fish Cakes PLUS Dessert

>This one is a bit of a mix and match. I decided to clear our my larder and found alot of lentils and pulses hidden behind at the back of the cupboard. I can’t even remember when I bought them so decided to cook them and restock again. I’m glad they were still ok to eat.

I experimented mungbeans in green curry, with corn tortillas on the side, some panfried chicken, baked beetroot and panfried tofu.
The meal come out semi asian/mexican infused which was quite nice and interesting I have to say. The tofu and tortillas were suppose to be the dippers for the green curry in the middle but it didn’t work out so we just ate as we went… mixing and matching!


With the left over mungbean curry, we had it with black french lentils the next day. It’s really versatile and still lovely to eat. It was a bean fiesta!!
Another dinner recipe was chosen out from Jamie Oliver’s cookbook for Thai Fish Cakes made from salmon. I had a good old time with this little number, think it took about 3hrs all up to put this together, to only see it all fall apart as they didn’t hold together as well as I thought they will. Suffice to say some were safe, but others weren’t, so I’ll only show you the good pics. They were really good though.
Mix together:

2 cooked salmon fillet
2 cups sprouted mungbeans
2 eggs
4 onions, diced
1 bulb of garlic, minced
1 whole tofu, pureed
1 cup gram flour
3 red fresh chillies
1 bunch of coriander and spring onion each
Mix and blend them together as you go, just make sure they’re chopped or blended nicely. I omitted the flour thinking that it would hold but it didn’t. So make sure you don’t omit it. Then just panfry them and enjoy!
We enjoyed ours with a side of fruity grape and cucumber salad and some left over mixed veges and of course my favourite, hot dang spicy thai chilli sauce!
For dessert, I made strawberry angel delight yoghurt pie. There were 2 packets of angel delight sitting there for the longest time ever so I decided to utilise it.
This was a BIG PIE! The method was the same as with the banoffee pie I made earlier but here are the ingredients:
For the crust:
2 cups almonds, chopped
2 cups dates, chopped
Combine them both together and mix evenly and press down in a baking pan/baking dish. Set aside.
For the top:
2 packets of strawberry angel delight
1 tub of plain yoghurt
2 sticks of agar agar
Combine and mix together well.
Putting them together:
1. Press down the crust in a baking pan/dish evenly.
2. Place and spread out cherries to cover on top of the crust.
3. Pour over the yoghurt mixture.
4. Put in the fridge for at least 8hrs or overnight.
My cherries were still frozen so it kinda melted everywhere when we wanted to eat it. And the yoghurt mixture was abit clumpy too cos the agar agar was still bit too hot when I mixed it all in. Oh well, never mind! It was still so delicious! Live and learn, and don’t forget to eat!
