>Mince Pork with Mui Choy Stir Fry and Steamed Salmon

>This week, I wanted to cook my all time favourites of mom’s cooking. One of them being the mui choy and pork mince on top of a block of lightly fried tofu. Ooooh, I do love that dish. Mom makes it the best. Unfortunately, with all ingredients ready on the counter, I went to Choitrams and they didn’t have any tofu come in that day! DARN DANG NAM IT! So I had to substitute with whatever I had in the fridge, coming up with sliced cabbage and carrots with lots of fresh coriander and spring onions.

And so begins the wonderful journey of combinations, having imagine what the taste would be like in my head, I decided to go for it.
1/2 head of a medium white cabbage, sliced
2 large carrots, sliced
400g mince pork
200g mui choy, diced
1 bunch each of spring onions and coriander
salt and pepper
To accompany the salty/sweet dish, I decided to pinch some of the fresh coriander and spring onion and put it on top of the fresh salmon to be steamed.
Oh the combination was utterly heavenly. I love steamed fish, plain and simple, without any seasoning. I love the taste of plain steamed salmon, the flavour is just intoxicating! (Just make sure that the fish is fresh, otherwise it’s horrible). Both the dishes went well together, the flavours of both dishes came out individually, not overpowering each other.
And for dessert to refresh the palette, we had a juicy and sweet rock melon and fresh juicy and sweet cherries. What a great way to finish off the day!!
