>Weekend and World Cup Mania 3 Sesame Crusted Kumara Balls, Meatball Saag and Carrot Salad

>Salivating yet? This puppy is called the Inside Out Chocolate Muffin with a side of Vanilla ice cream. To be cheeky, my husband asked for more ice cream as he didn’t want whip cream and we got it! Well, if you don’t ask, you don’t get and what’s the harm in asking? 😉 I brought myself to try 1 mouthful but I stuck to my usual fruit salad which was just as nice.
And to make us feel better after all that calories, we had White Tangerine Tea and Tropical Green Tea each. Interesting flavours I have to say but I’m so glad that we’re trying new things!
During our weekend food shop, we got a few of these lovely kumaras. I baked them for 1hr in the oven under 190degC heat, then took them out and let them cool down. I didn’t know how many kumaras to bake so I baked them all but I didn’t use them all. We’re still eating them till today – what’s that, 1 week now? My husband loves them so he’s happy with kumara week as I call it!
I read Rasa Malaysia and found a post for Sesame Sweet Potato, but instead of frying them, I just mashed them (make sure that the sweet potato is still firm and not too soft), didn’t mix anything in (although the recipe called for flour, sugar and salt), rolled them up and coated them in roasted white and black sesame seeds. Don’t they just look lovely? They tasted so good too and the kumara was really sweet so it’s like dessert but without the guilt.
As the main dish, I decided to make meatball saag. Do I hear you say… “what the…?”

Well, I used the chicken saag recipe and refined and replaced the original and used original ingredients that I memorised. Obviously I made these as finger foods for easy eating during the game with all the goodies in one.
500g mince beef
1 cup sprouted mung beans
500g spinach, pureed
2 eggs
1 bulb garlic, minced
4 med onions, minced
spring onion, chopped
coriander, chopped
2tbsp curry powder
2tbsp coriander and cumin
salt and pepper
So basically, put the onions and garlic in a food processor and process till fine. Cook the spinach until wilted and soft. Then into the processor and pureed. Put everything together in a big bowl and mix well. Roll them up into balls and fry or bake. I started frying them and found it too much of a hassle so I decided to put the rest in the oven and baked them.
Voila, a lovely party picnic ready to be eaten. I think I had about 8 meatballs and 4kumara balls, you know, to test to make sure that it’s good. I made 2 batches of meatballs, Indian and Italian as we bought 1kg of mince meat so we had them over a few days of meals. I think there are still a few more kumara balls in the fridge! Taste really good cold too.
