>Fluffy Salmon with Pineapple Fried Rice and Tofu Mixed Vege

>Good morning, yes it is a good morning, look what’s for breakfast! Beautiful chunky tomatoes with vegetarian cheese on wholemeal toast. The smell was heavenly and the tastebuds were thoroughly satisfied.This was dinner on Tuesday night, steamed salmon marinated in juicy fresh lemon. This lovely piece of fillet came from Carrefour and I have to say, I’m loving salmon. I normally don’t eat fish (my mom can verify that) no matter how it’s cooked but nowadays Salmon is my favourite! Second to that is Sherri, King Fish, Tuna… Yum. I think when you cook it fresh and straight out from the oven or stove top, it makes a heck of a difference. I think I used to come home real late at night after work and eat warmed up fish which seems to me to be super fishy and that’s why I didn’t like it. But steamed salmon is my favourite at the moment and buying fresh salmon helps too. Carrefour and Lulu’s do the best salmon variety. Not sure about Geant, haven’t been there for ages but they do a good variety of seafood too.
Accompanying the fluffy salmon is Pineapple Fried Brown Rice with a traditional fried egg. We had 3 rings of pineapple from our weekend fruitanza was turning brown and I saw a blog for pineapple fried rice just the other day and decided to try it. I’ve only ever tried it once before and now it’s time to try it again. It was nice.

The ingredients were simple:
1 cup of brown rice, cooked
3 rings of pineapple, diced
2 cups frozen mixed veges
4 med onions, sliced
1 bulb of garlic, minced
1 egg, fried
Fry the egg first and set aside.
Fry up the onions and garlic till golden brown and caramelised.
Add in the frozen mixed veges, then the rice and mix well. Add in salt, pepper, sesame oil and some soy sauce.
Then finally toss in the fresh pineapple and set aside.
I took out the mixed veges (before adding in the pineapple and rice) and had it with some panfried hard tofu. And of course topped it with Lingham Chilli Sauce! I scoffed it down before I could take a photo of it *sorry*. The supermarkets sell hard tofu from China for AED4.75 but for the soft silken tofu, its like AED10, double the price!? How can that be???? I do miss soft silken tofu, think they might be from Japan but I can’t afford to spend that much on tofu. I will however spend it on Silk Soy Milk which is oh so lovely! 🙂 Miss my fried tofu (puff) from Choitrams though, they haven’t been stocking it for 2 weeks now. I go down every now and then to see if they have them, then I’ll cook it for dinner for sure! Time to head down to Dragonmart I think.
