>Moroccan Week from the LEON cookbook

>So, I decided to make use of my cookbooks more often, by way of using 1 cookbook a week and choosing recipes from there for meals for 5days. This week is the LEON cookbook. I accidentally found this book on the shelf at Kino’s and am super chuffed as only been at the LEON restaurant for the one and only time on Carnaby Street, I fell in love with it immediately. The menu and ingredients used are superfoods, super fresh and super delicious! I had to get the cookbook no matter what. My husband didn’t/couldn’t even get a word in! πŸ™‚

This week’s meal has been based around Moroccan dishes, so alot of lentils, beans, veges, prunes, apricots and herbs. The side dishes are added as to what we have in the freezer.
This first one is a Jenna’s Moorish Vegetable Tagine, accompanied with steamed Norwegian Salmon, bought from Lulu’s Hypermarket.
The ingredients for the vegetable tagine are:
2 cups cooked lentils or garbanzo beans (chickpeas)
2 courgette, chopped
2 capsicums, chopped
2 carrots, chopped
1 medium eggplant, chopped
4 medium tomatoes
1 cup almonds, soaked
1 cup apricots and prunes, chopped
tomato puree
water
fresh spring onions and coriander
onions, ginger and garlic, chopped
Put them all into a wok, garlic, onions and ginger first, fry till golden. Then add in the hardest to softest vegetable as you go, with the tomato puree going in with the first vegetable, kinda like a stew. Add all the vegetables and fruits in and season as you go. Finally put in the fresh herbs and toss gently. Leave the tagine to sit for a while and enjoy.
With the extra lentils that I cooked for the Vegetable Tagine, I made Cupcake Lentil Falafels.
4 cups of cooked lentils
4 med onions, finely chopped
1 garlic bulb, finely chopped
4 tbsp tahini
1 cup breadcrumbs
1 egg
3/4 cup sesame seeds
fresh coriander and spring onion, chopped
Mix them all up together and form into oval shapes. It pays to mash the lentils first to make it sticky and mashy but I didn’t that’s why I had to put them into the muffin tray to hold and keep its form. But it still fell apart when we had them, oh well, doesn’t matter. It still tasted damn delicious though.

*sorry about the dirty plate, this was my second helping, with my trusty Lingham Chilli Sauce*
We enjoyed the lentil cupcakes with left over Vegetable Tagine. I made alot so I didn’t have to cook massive meals, just accompaniments which was super easy and quick so I could enjoy myself with time outside of the apartment.

Last night’s dinner was my own concoction as we still had 4 more lentil cupcakes to finish off. I decided to make a tomato based casserole, chicken and pork sausages with a whole load of vegetables Moroccan style, with bay leaves, parsley, cinnamon and thyme. I also added some new found Quail Eggs which were a b*tch to peel! But they were nice. And a special liquid, namely red wine! πŸ™‚
The casserole stewed for about 30min for the alcohol to evaporate and then let sit for 1hr. It helped that my husband came home late yesterday but I already had my lentil cupcakes waiting for him! So the image above was from his plate… πŸ™‚ We have leftovers for tonight (no surprises there) so I will come up with something, possibly redoing the Moroccan meal into a pasta bake Italian style, Tabouleh with frozen vege/peas for me and then Cherry Banana Ice Cream for dessert. Great way to end the week eh?!
*wondering which cookbook to use for next week’s meal*
