>Tom Yum Vermicelli with Lemon Herbed Salmon and Pak Choy and Chicken Top Pie

>The weekend just flew by so quickly, why is it that when you’re enjoying yourself, time passes by quickly? It’s so unfair. Before you know it, it’s back to work again.

For Wednesday night’s dinner, we enjoyed tom yum and tomato vermicelli with a side of lemon salmon, with thyme, oregano and rosemary (my favourite trio)! They go with everything and they smell so good together! And 2 bunches of pak choy that I got fresh from the supermarket with carrots.
I marinated the salmon for about 2hrs in lemon and the herbs before putting it in the oven for 20min. In the meantime I blanched the pak choy and carrots and dressed it with soy sauce and sesame seed. Simple and lovely. The salmon was the ultimate. I just love salmon nowadays, we try to eat it at least once a week. We used to have 1 piece each but now we share 1 big piece and have something else on the side. I don’t like/want any leftovers as I like to eat/cook new dishes everyday and because I just want to eat and try a variety of dishes while I have the time to cook them all!
As I arranged to head out on Thursday, I normally do a one-pot bake before heading out which we can then just warm up when we get home. I decided to just concoct up a chicken top pie, which involved:
450g chicken pieces
1/4 cabbage, chopped
1 tray of fresh mushroom, halved
3 med carrots, diced
3 med onions, diced
1 can of cream of mushroom
1/2 cup water or milk
cheddar cheese
So all I did was fry the chicken, and while that’s going on, I chopped and put all the vegetables in a baking dish with the cream of chicken and water. Make sure they’re all coated nicely with the soup. Place the cooked chicken pieces and sprinkle the cheese on top. Then into the oven it goes, 180deg heat for 40min. Voila! Dinner’s ready.
And for dessert, I made pineapple with orange jelly, what a great way to cool away the desert heat huh?! Because it’s summer now, there are alot of tropical fruits on sale. We’ve enjoyed delicious sweet and tart mangoes from Thailand, watermelon from Oman, local sweet honeydew, cheap kiwifruit, China pears and cheap cherries! Oh the lovely fruits of the earth, what more could you ask for?! I also bought frozen strawberries to make strawberry ice cream one of these days, can’t wait, can’t wait!
