>Steamed Oat Cupcakes and Sweet n Sour Fish (with a twist)

>YUM! Tell me if you can resist those cupcakes?! Haha…

Sorry, they definitely don’t look delectable or enticing, unfortunately the paper cup holders didn’t ‘hold’ the mixture properly, I should have figured it out since I was going to steam them, which involves water, heat and weight… *BIG FLOP*
The Recipe:
1/2 cup oat bran
1 cup steel cut oats
1 cup jumbo raw oats
1 cup raisins
1/2 cup flaxseed
4 ripe bananas
walnuts and almonds
So everything went into a big bowl, mixed and mashed up evenly. Make sure you mash the bananas first to make it easier but it’s ok to mash it in with the rest of the dry ingredients. I didn’t add in any liquid as the cupcakes were going to be steamed.
Then put to steam for about 30min, top each with whatever nuts you have or want, or add chopped dates, fruits/dried fruits, anything you want really. Also add in honey, seeds, whatever… anything goes really. They can be steamed as cupcakes, cake or loaf, either way is ok!
But I do have to say that the steamed cupcakes were delicious! We had them with heated up and then coated with cold yoghurt. The hot and cold combination was lovely, if you close your eyes, it’s like eating hot warm fudge cake with cold ice cream. That’s how good it was! 🙂
Sweet n Sour Fish (with a twist)
On Thursday night, I decided to use the King Fish that was in the fridge for yonks! I decided on making sweet and sour fish with a twist. I broke up the recipe into 2 meals. In the normal sweet and sour dish, you have carrots, cucumber, capsicum, pineapple and fish. I decided to take them apart, making vegetable sushi and kingfish skewers.
5 carrots
2 cucumbers
1 large yellow capsicum
1/2 avocado
apple cider vinegar
seaweed sheets
So I boiled the carrots and mashed them. Set them aside. Meanwhile, I sliced up the cucumber, carrots, capsicum (and avocado) and soaked them in apple cider vinegar for about 30min. I used the mashed carrots as the base (in replacement of the rice) and laid the other vegetables over and rolled them, mixing and matching as I went for variety. I made quite a few which we had for the next day too.
For the kingfish skewers, I simply pan fried the king fish and then divide them into smaller bite size portions, skewered them with pineapple and cucumber.
For the sauce, I mixed together apple cider vinegar, tomato sauce, cornflour, water and sugar. There wasn’t any real measurement, just add and taste as you go.
And there you go, a lovely Asian/Japanese dinner infusion. This meal took a while to create but I really enjoyed the challenge and putting them together. It was well worth it. I love the vegetarian sushi, I will definitely make it again soon as I have some seaweed sheets left over.
