>Spinach and Feta stuffed Chicken Breast with Roasted Golden Root Vegetables

>Last night’s dinner was simply superb! I can say that my massive collection of recipe whether it be online or cookbooks came in handy. I never thought of combining feta, spinach and chicken together. I’ve always thought that feta and spinach only goes well with lamb. To my surprise, I saw a lovely recipe online that says different. I guess it’s all about experimenting with taste and flavours, bringing different ingredients together. So I decided to try it out and couldn’t wait to try it out.

I accompanied the dish with baking root vegetables with one thing in common, that they were all golden in colour. Last weekend we got a beautiful squash (my favourite), along with carrots, red and yellow capsicum, they all went into the oven to bake for about 1hr because I like my root vegetables brown, limp and bruised. I didn’t season them as they will come out sweet and tasty on their own accord. I left the skin on the squash because that’s the way I eat them, and they give you extra fibre! 🙂

1/2 squash, sliced
2 carrots, sliced
2 capsicums, sliced

Back to the spinach and feta combination, I had some left over spinach and feta so I decided to use up the remaining wonton skin to make little spinach feta wontons. There were 11 skin left which filled up a muffin tray nicely. They went into the oven for 30min and came out lovely and golden. Don’t forget to oil the muffin tray beforehand otherwise the skin will get stuck.

The stuffed chicken breasts included:
2 chicken breasts
1 bunch spinach, chopped and cooked
1 pack of feta cheese

I only seasoned the top of the chicken with pepper as the feta is salty and that was it. Into the oven went the vegetables and chicken for 1hr.

The dish was so simple and quick to make to my surprise, I started preparing at 4.30pm and we ate at 6.15pm. This included the baking time of all the 3 dishes. I prepared the spinach and feta first, then placed the wontons into the oven. While that was cooking, I prepared the rest of the meal. It was easy and super delicious. I love it that everything is cooked with all it’s natural goodness without any additives. We loved it and you will definitely see this meal again on my blog! Happy Tuesday everybody!

