>Falafels with Thai Red Curry Tofu

>I wanted to make something that’s challenging and time consuming and having some left over boiled chickpeas, what else is there to make than my all time favourite Falafels! We decided on a vegetarian night and we did, having left over blanched veges from the night before, we decided on turning that into a curry. I looked into the fridge and saw a very delicious white cube of tofu, just waiting to be eaten, so I decided on a Thai Red Curry Tofu dish with falafels, Middle East meets East?!

So I pureed:
2 1/2 cups of of boiled chickpea
2 tbsp tahini
2 tbsp lemon juice
1 clove of garlic
1 large onion
1 bunch of fresh coriander

And all I did was pureed the bigger ingredients and mixed the rest into a bowl until a thick mixture is formed. Then you can either make patties or balls, whichever you wanted and either panfry, fry or bake them. I chose to bake them under a 180degC heat for 35min. And voila, golden delicious falafel balls ready to be eaten.

For the Thai Red Curry Tofu, the ingredients were:
1 cube of firm tofu
2 medium capsicum
1 carrot
1/2 small cabbage
1 cup of boiled chickpea
a bunch of fresh coriander, chopped

Thai Curry Paste
2 tbsp red thai curry paste
1/2 cup dessicated coconut
1/2 cup sugar/honey
2 tsp fish sauce
2 tsp lime juice
1/2 cup water

1. In a frying pan, I fried the cubes of tofu first until all sides are golden brown.
2. Then I took them out and stirfried the other vegetables with some garlic and onions until golden brown.
3. I then stirred in the red thai curry paste with some water until it nicely coated all the vegetables.
4. Lastly, I put in the tofu and lightly tossed them in with the curry. It doesn’t matter if the tofu gets coated with the curry or not, it’s just a light toss.

And there you go, a delicious and simple vegetarian dish. I thought that the falafels could easily substitute meatballs for vegetarian nights but my husband ‘greatly’ disagrees. Meatballs could never be substituted, as they are his favourite! Meatballs in thick tomato sauce on top of a bed of al dante pasta, that’s his favourite. He could eat it forever, so he says! He is such a lover of Italian food… no wonder he likes making lasagne and bolognese, and that’s all he’ll ever make!

