>Love Mint Cookies for My Love

>Sorry for the long silence, I have been through so much in such a short span of time, I had the surprise of my life! But suffice to say, more info to come abit later on when anything is given to me or confirmed, lets put it that way shall we?

We had Chinese New Year to go through, which ends this Sunday, 2 weeks worth of celebration. Mom asked me what I was doing for the end of New Years, I told her I didn’t even realise that we had to do something and I thought that New Year’s was celebrated for 1 month, not 2 weeks. I’m not sure how that conversation ended but I think she said she was making some sort of steam cake and a meal? But all I know is anything that she makes is always good and delicious.

So anyway, this was one of the breakfast that I had with the left over red bean paste, I had with yoghurt, banana and oats. It was damn good, my next round will be with mung bean, I’ll alternate red and green. Oh and there’s barley too and all sorts, if we can find it all.

This was another dinner from our left overs, wonton soup. We had so much food, I think we ate them for a week. To think of it, there’s still a tupperware of mixed veges in the freezer still waiting to be eaten.

Anyway, last Friday, I made some cookies for my valentine, 1 week later. I saw this recipe online that looked so much more classier than the normal Choc Mint Slice that my husband wanted me to make. These were the luxurious type of Choc Mint Slice: Chocolate Mint Cookies.

First I made the cookies, simply:
100g of butter, melted
2 cups of flour (I used Spelt Flour)
1 cup of sugar
1 egg
1 cup of cocoa powder
2 tsp vanilla essence
2 tsp baking powder

I creamed the butter and sugar first, then added in the dry ingredients slowly and at the end I put in the egg. Make sure that it’s all mixed in well together and formed it into a ball, wrapped it in cling film and then put it into the fridge for 1hr to harden up.

Then I melted 400g of chocolate with at least 70% cocoa until melted.

On the otherside, I mixed together 1 1/2cups of icing sugar, 40g of butter (soft), 2 tsp of peppermint extract/essence.

When the dough has hardened slightly to the point where it can be handled firmly, take it out, flatten and press the heart shape into the dough, cutting them until all’s done. Lay on a baking tray and bake for about 20min or so in a 180degC heated oven.

Once they’re done, take them out and let cool. When cool enough to handle, cream one cookie with the peppermint cream and sandwich it with another. Do this to all of them until finish. Then cover each sandwich with the melted cream. You can easily do this with a spoon or a butter knife. By the time you finish the sandwiches, the chocolate would have cooled down and harden slightly. I had half a bowl of peppermint cream left over so I made my own icing cone with baking paper and snipped the end off, allowing me to create these zigzag lines which gave the cookie such a beautiful and professional finish I have to say. They look lovely.

Then into the fridge it went, for about 1hr but of course I couldn’t resist, I had 2 sandwiches just to ‘test’, you know what I mean.. *wink wink*

But when my husband got home, I took some out and we enjoyed more together for 3 days, sharing the cookies together until they were all but a memory… They were lovely! I’ll make more Choc Mint Slice for him – the old fashion ones that he used to have when he was working back home, he loved those, so will attempt to make them one of these days.

Don’t they just look gorgeous!? They were really really good. I have become addicted to Chocolate Mint too thanks to my husband, the combination is gorgeous. Think we have half a bottle of Mint Baileys left but that would be the next best thing!

This is my new found love too! My own popped corn. I decided to try it out for myself, buying corn from the supermarket and popping them myself, and it worked!!! I had to put them in a brown paper bag, seal the top with a cellotape (do not staple it as the metal will spark and the bag will catch fire!!). I placed in 1 cup of corn and had to microwave it 3x. It took about 3min for the first time round, 2nd batch was about 2min, then the 3rd batch took only 30sec as there wasn’t much to pop anyway. I like the plain taste but of course you can put whatever flavouring you want on it without all that added calories of popcorn you get at the cinema. For the salted popcorn, just sprinkle some salt over your popcorn, for cheesey popcorn, dust some Parmesan on the popped corn, and for sweet caramel popcorn, drizzle some agave nectar or maple syrup over your popped corn. Easy peasy… there are loads of other flavourings you can have on your popped corn, there is no limit to your imagination… curried popcorn anyone?

