>Healthier homemade version of Vegetarian and Meat Lover Pizzas

>While browsing through the internet, I found an excellent alternative recipe to the humble pizza. A few bloggers have already blogged about this and found it to be a ‘healthier’ alternative to the normal ultra calorie pizza. This new recipe doesn’t use a normal pizza bread base but a cauliflower mash base. It is really easy and so simple and delicious too.

The cauliflower base includes:
3 cups cauliflower rice (semi steamed cauliflower which is then processed)
3 cups mozzarella cheese (I only put in 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese)
1 large egg

Place in a preheated oven for about 30min (depending on the thickness of your base) under 190degC heat. I left mine in the oven until it bubbled and turned brown on the surface. Cook the base first before putting on any toppings.

I made a ‘meatlover’ pizza and a vegetarian pizza (all from left overs). Make sure that the toppings are cooked first before hand. The meatlover pizza had mince beef and bacon pieces, tomato base and brown sauce, topped with mozzarella cheese.

The vegetarian pizza had steamed broccoli, onions, mushrooms, avocado with tomato base and mozzarella topping. I can tell you right now that I didn’t like baked avocado! It was ‘interesting’. Really rather eat it fresh from the fruit itself.



They both turned out lovely!! We both finished the two pizzas in one sitting as it was light and healthy, guilt free of course. The toppings were either steamed, raw or cooked without any oil. In terms of the bacon, they were placed on a kitchen towel to soak up the oil before being placed on the cauliflower. I made sure that I took all measures I could to make this pizza healthier and better for us.

Do try it out, I got the recipe from The Examiner. Browse through, there’s loads of other goodies.

