>Chickpea and Lentil Kapitan Curry with Meat Fried Rice

>Mmmmm… I love chickpeas, lentils, beans of all sorts, I know they make you toot but heck, it’s such a beautiful thing to deny or be frugal about! It’s all worth it! 🙂 Anyway, I got a pack of chickpeas, yellow lentil and I wanted to try the Organic Black French Lentil that was on sale during my weekly browse at Organics. There was nothing to loose, all beans and lentils are good for you, a great source of protein.

I didn’t measure any amounts but just poured into bowls and filled them up with water. I soaked them overnight and then the next day till dinner time which is close to about 18hrs all together. They came out so plump and didn’t need a great amount of time to cook because they’re soaked through which is a bonus. It only took about 20min to boil them, and they became tender to the bite.

I boiled the chickpeas first as they were thicker and bigger, and munched on them while I was putting together the curry. The kapitan curry ingredients involved:
4 large onions, chopped
15 curry leaves
1 cup of dessicated coconut, toasted
1 jar Kapitan Curry Paste
1 garlic bulb, chopped
2 cups cooked chickpeas
2 cups lentils

The method is very simple:
1. Stirfry the garlic and onions till golden brown
2. Put in the sauce and curry leaves, and a cup of water or coconut milk, combine well.
3. Stir in the yellow and black lentils, cover and bring to boil.
4. Make sure the lentils are cooked before adding in the cooked chickpeas.
5. Stir together well and add seasoning to taste. Add in the dessicated coconut to thicken the curry. It is up to you if you wanted it dry or wet.

I added in boiled eggs for added goodness and protein as I was going vegetarian for the night, although I did stirfry up some bbq stead slices with rice for him, which he had with the curry.

The both went together really well and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Even without meat, I was really full, considering I munched on half of the chickpeas before dinner and tasted the curry and fried rice a few times over! Guilty!!! If you don’t have any curry paste, just the normal few tablespoons of curry powder will do. It will be just as good to enjoy with fluffy jasmine rice and a side of vegetables. Enjoy!

