>Tofu Mocha Brownie

>Oh yes, you heard right! The healthy, and still delicious, version of the coveted brownie. For those out there who are skeptics, don’t dismiss it till you try it. It tastes exactly like a normal brownie, filled with chocolatey goodness, even the thick, creamy, fudgyness consistency. I had an entire row of it without feeling guilty at all because I know what the ingredients are and the amounts that I’ve put in. This is definitely a sweet winner in my house!

The ingredients healthy and the method easy. So here we go, this will change your life!

1 cube silken tofu
2 cups unrefined sugar (I used agave nectar)
2 tbsp oil (I used rice bran)
1 dash of salt
1/3 cup ground instant coffee
1 cup cocoa powder
1 cup plain flour (I used spelt flour)

1. Puree the tofu in a food processor till silky smooth and creamy.

2. Then add in all the ingredients one by one into the processor, at a slow – moderate pace, blend in until all the ingredients are mixed well together. If the consistency is too thick, add in some skim milk or yoghurt to bring up the creaminess.

3. Optional: Add in chopped nuts, pecan and walnuts are lovely with brownies.

3. Put the mixture into a baking glassware that has been oiled under 190degC heat for about 40min. I lined mine with baking paper but the paper got stuck to the brownie when I tried to lift it out, so I advice not lining it with baking paper.


The result, lovely creamy thick brownie, eat it warm. I had mine with toasted coconut and yoghurt with some agave nectar. You can also have it with some creamy Baileys, custard or maple syrup or ice cream if you wish. Just don’t forget to try it on it’s own first before accompanying with other flavours so you can fully appreciate the lovely taste and texture of the brownie. Simply delightful.

