>Spinach Souffle and Lincoln Herbed Sausages

>I had such a big such a big stomach after dinner last night, I tell no lie. I decided to finally try making the Spinach Souffle after putting it off for a week. It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be, however the souffle didn’t stay up after it came out of the oven. I seek the secret to keeping souffle’s upright once out of the oven.

This one was taken from Gordon Ramsay’s Healthy Appetite cookbook, modified slightly as I didn’t have all the ingredients on list. I thought I had, but I didn’t.

2 bunches of spinach
4 eggs, separated
200g goat’s cheese
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 medium onions, minced
250ml skim milk
2 tbsp flour
salt and pepper
The recipe asked to oil individual remkins and place in the fridge for 15min. Repeat one more time.

1. Wash and place spinach into a pan, cook with some water until wilted and soft. Season a little bit with salt and pepper. Leave to cool.
2. Mince the garlic and onion, cook until soft and golden. Put in the flour, season and then add in the milk slowly whilst continuously stirring. Leave aside to cool.
3. Once cooled, crumble in the goat’s cheese and parmesan cheese, stir sparingly. Add in the wilted spinach and 4 egg yolks.
4. Place the 4 egg whites into a bowl and whisk till a stiff peak forms.
5. Fold into the spinach gently and put into chilled remkins.
6. Place in 190degC oven for about 15min or until the top browns.

I put my souffles into a muffin tray as I didn’t have any remkins, which was a big mistake. The souffles must be eaten from individual bowls because the souffles will stick to the pan no matter how much you oil it.

My souffle’s did rise in the oven which was a novelty to watch, however it did sink when I took it out from the oven. Maybe I didn’t leave it in long enough or whisk the egg white long enough? Or not chill my muffin tray long enough, I don’t know.

But I do know that it came out ok, tasted ok too but I will try making it again, properly, in individual remkins. The sausage was on sale at Choitrams for AED5 for 10 Lincoln Herbed Sausages, not sure what’s so special about Lincoln Sausages but they were juicy and not salty like other sausages which was nice. We emptied the entire muffin tray, 6 spinach souffles each with sausages and left overs. My stomach was big, very big!

