>Sausage Casserole & Bak Kut Teh

>My husband made a lovely sausage casserole during the weekend, using Borewores sausages, carrots, bacon, mushrooms and sweet potatoes. It was combined with onions and garlic and tomato paste, creating a lovely casserole which we enjoyed for our Friday lunch. We finished the rest of it just yesterday actually. One pot meals are always the way to go! Just lovely, thanks babe. Keep up the good work!

We got some pork ribs during the weekend from Organics, so I decided to make Bak Kut Teh. This would be the first time for me after years and years of not having it and also the first for my husband, having not tasted it before, I was afraid of his reaction to this herbed soup. So I halved the pork ribs and coated it with the only thing that he ultimately loves, chinese bbq sauce! He told me he could eat them forever, like I could eat my mom’s home cooked chicken curry forever too. So in the Bak Kut Teh, I got the herbed packet from mom, which came all the way from Malaysia, boiled it with water for 30min and added in the ribs and soaked black chinese mushroom. It was lovely! Brought back memories but I would love to have tofu puff and yau char quey in it too, but those ingredients are non existent here.

My husband loved it, he enjoyed the herbed soup and the boiled ribs. I loved it, however it was abit weak, I did put in too much water I have to admit, so next time it’ll be less water with the 2nd packet. We enjoyed it with baked cauliflower and broccoli cheese and of course the chinese bbq ribs which he thoroughly enjoyed. He was licking his fingers after that with a look of total satisfaction on his face… a look, all cook wants to see! Makes one feel good and confident with oneself and will continue to cook for those who appreciate it.

I actually wrote this blog the other way around, check out my tofu mocha brownie blog and my spinach souffle blog. I just love trying and experimenting new foods.

