>Savoury Scones and Thai Salmon Salad

>I am so happy with the scones I made yesterday. These are beautiful, golden, fragrant-as-heck Cheese and Bacon Scones! I’ve always made them muffin style but yesterday I decided to make them scone style. They came out so lovely! I found this recipe in a Christmas cookbook back in NZ and swear by them every single time I make them, whenever family and friends bite into them, their eyes will light up in pure indulgence… Just wonderful to see especially when you are the one who is responsible for it. My husband just loves them, think he had a few before dinner but that didn’t stop him from enjoying dinner either. I myself had 2 scones after dinner, they were just beautiful.
The magical ingredients were slightly modified by myself and as per my own taste and availability in our fridge and larder.

Wet Ingredients:
1 pack of streaky bacon
1 generous slice (300g) of Edam cheese, cubed
4 medium onions, diced
1 tbsp brown sugar
olive oil

Dough Ingredients:
3 cups self rising flour (I substituted with 1 cup wholemeal, 1 cup plain and 1 cup spelt flour)
3 tsp baking powder
100g butter, melted (I substituted with 1/2 cup olive oil)
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup milk
1. Fry up the streaky bacon till crispy and brown, set aside and let cool. Fry up the onions in the same pan adding in the brown sugar and stirfry till golden and soft.
2. Let that set aside to cool. In the meantime, sieve the dry ingredients together.
3. Add in the cubed cheese, onions and chop up the bacon and add it in.
4. Then finally put in the milk and water and stir till well combined.
5. Either place in muffin trays or mould into medium balls and press down on the tray.
6. Put into a preheated oven of 190degC for about 45min.

Take out and enjoy them HOT! They’re lovely!!!!! Can’t wait to make a second batch.

With these lovely golden puffs, we had Thai Salmon Salad. I thought we should have some salmon since we haven’t eaten salmon for a while now and instead of just steaming it with a leafy green, I’d decide to make something different for a change. Looking online and everywhere else, I found this real easy recipe which only included steaming the fish with everything else accompanying it straight from the fresh zone.

500g fresh salmon, steamed and broken into pieces
5 lettuce leaves, torn
1 carrot, julienne
1 cucumber, julienne
10 cherry tomatoes, halved
dashes of mint, coriander, basil (fresh and dry mix)

Thai dressing:
Soy Sauce
Fish Sauce
Lime Juice
Brown Sugar
Sesame Oil
All you have to do is steam the salmon for about 30min, then leave to stand and warm down for handling. In the meantime, put together the vegetable in a salad bowl and toss the salmon together. Mix together the thai dressing, the amounts are up to your personal taste, so taste as you go. I like mine more salty than sweet so I added more soy sauce and only very little sugar.

This is such a simple and delicious salad, not to mention healthy too and I am all for tasty and healthy food. So a combination of semi-healthy and healthy dish makes it all ok 😉 – well, in my head anyway! Take care all and enjoy cooking/baking wherever you are.

