>Vege & Meat Skewers, Millet Nut Banana Loaf, Chilli Prawn Beehoon and Meatball with Chilli Tomato Sauce & Eggplant Courgette Bake

>What a mouthful! Sorry about the title, there’s 4 different meals in this post. I have been slack in blogging as something always comes up. No excuse really, only that I procrastinate alot!

Vege & Meat Skewers
This is a superfast easy meal to put together, I decided to make something different as I got inspired by something I saw in one of my cookbooks. I had a few vegetables going pass its due date in the fridge so the easiest is skewers! This dish consists of:

1 eggplant
1 head of broccoli
2 capsicums
500g meat cubes
2 carrots

I put this dish together with a chilli prawn paste, stir fried with onions and garlic till soft and fragrant. I also added into the prawn paste some water to dilute it as it is very thick. At the side, I had some hoisin sauce for dipping. The skewers went into the oven for about 40min, just to make sure that the meat cooks but it did come out chewy. I fried some bee hoon for my husband to enjoy with the chilli prawn paste. It was lovely. I think I enjoyed 6 skewers but my husband only had 2 skewers! I feel like a pig!! 🙂

Millet Nut Banana Loaf
This special delight was made by the husband, as we had some bananas going black. I found this lovely and healthy recipe in one of my cookbooks but in addition to the recipe we added in cranberries from Christmas left overs. We modified this recipe a whole lot to cater for our needs. The recipe included:

4 very ripe bananas, mashed
100g millet, soaked
1 1/2 cup cranberries, halved
1 cup walnuts, chopped
1 cup almonds, chopped
1 cup white flour
3/4 cup wholemeal flour (I substituted with 1 cup bran and 1 1/2 cup wholemeal flour)
115g butter, melted (I substituted with 1/2 cup olive oil)
200g caster sugar (I substituted with 1/2 cup agave nectar)
1 tsp bicarbonate soda
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla essence

Method:
1. Preheat oven 180degC. In a bowl, cream the melted butter and sugar with electric mixer. Add the beaten eggs and blend well.
2. Sift in the flours, bicarbonate soda and salt and add into the butter mixture. Blend at low speed until all combined.
3. Add the millet, mashed bananas, vanilla essence and nuts and stir till nicely mixed.
4. Pour into a baking tin, oiled, and baked for 1hr 20min or until skewer comes out clean. Leave the bread to cool before attacking it!

As you can see, I tucked mine in with a nice scoop of vanilla ice cream! One slice of this millet nut bread has only 140 calories!! That’s not bad for a sweet treat. Go ahead and make it, it’s good for your health too.
Chilli Prawn Beehoon
This concoction was basically put together from Wednesday night’s skewer meal. This was unfortunately our New Year’s meal. We went out on Thursday for a big lunch meal and so didn’t have room for our New Year’s dinner. What I had planned was Firey Orange Chicken, Ratatouille Bake and Steamed Salmon, but that’ll be for another time. This meal was a stirfry of the skewers with the extra chilli prawn paste and some beehoon put together. Super delicious and super tasty. We were begging for water after that.

Meatballs with Chilli Tomato Sauce and Aubergine Courgette Bake
We had this lovely dish last night for dinner, I made beef meatballs with courgette mince, salt, pepper, spring onions and coriander, rosemary and oregano with a few dashes of worchestershire sauce when it’s frying in the pan.

The Chilli Tomato Sauce was a mixture of:
700g tomato sauce
4 medium onions, diced
1 garlic clove, diced
1 tsp chilli powder
few dashes of balsamic vinegar
salt and pepper
water

1. Fry up the onion and garlic till soft and fragrant, then add in the spices and seasoning. Then add in the tomato sauce and water and finally the balsamic vinegar to taste. Stir and combine till it’s boiling.

The aubergine bake consists of:
1 large eggplant, sliced
3 courgettes, sliced
1 bunch of spinach, chopped
emmental cheese
extra virgin olive oil
basil

1. Basically layer the veges, first eggplant, spinach then courgette. Douse with olive oil and basil, then repeat again.
2. Finally finish it off with cheese on top. Don’t forget to put a little salt and pepper for taste.

Don’t over season it as the tomato paste is to be eaten with the aubergine bake as well as the meatballs.
Overall, I had about 3 meatballs and 3 helpings of aubergine terrine! It was ultra lovely, as the Chilli Tomato Sauce made it so much more delicious. The tomato paste can be used with pasta or any other dishes that goes well with tomato. We have some left overs and tonight I’m going to make up tomato fried rice with borewores, broccoli and frozen mixed veges. At the side is the aubergine bake. I hope it’ll taste nice as this dish was just concocted in my head just now! The borewores will be panfried before hand with the rice and veges for flavour, then when ready to eat, lightly tossed in the chilli tomato paste. Hope it works out! Will blog about it tomorrow! Till then, enjoy love, life, CARPE DIEM!

