>Baked Beans Salmon Stir Fry and Baked Chicken Stew

>I have to admit that I’ve been abit slack with posting up my meals, so today I’m posting up 3 meals that we had the past 3 nights. The first was an easy quick meal last week on Wednesday when we went out to do some pre-Christmas shopping, we came home late so it was baked beans, mushrooms, mixed vegetables and tofu. It was so delicious because we were so hungry. My husband had his baked beans with toast and edam. But the weird thing is we were not full after the meal, so we had some cheese (cheddar, edam, emmental and red leister) with crackers.

It was Christmas on Friday and Saturday and we had loads of delicious food! I will post up a blog on that separately!

Sunday night, I was craving for fish, so we had stir fry salmon. I just made this dish up in my head, combining salmon pieces with button mushrooms, baby corn, onions and garlic and coriander at the end to garnish. It was an easy dish to concoct up, just put the ingredients in one by one and cook till done. The seasoning was salt, pepper and soy sauce. It was utterly lovely.

We had some left over curry sauce from the Chicken Saag so we dressed it with some curry sauce and it was nice. I had mine as is, but my husband had his with basmati brown rice. Just delicious! Will definitely make this dish again. I was reminded of my mom’s dish, salmon with soy sauce and spring onions, garlic, ginger and onions.

Last night, I decided to try to make a chicken pie, however, it didn’t turn out the way I imagined it. I didn’t put in cream or flour to thicken the sauce, so it turned out like a stew. It was soup based too but baked, so it’s a Baked Chicken Stew – type dish.

The dish had:
1 clove of garlic, minced
4 medium onions, diced
500g chicken, cubed
500g frozen mixed vegetables
400g fresh mushrooms, sliced
500g sweet potato, sliced
200g basmati brown rice, cooked
2 capsicums, sliced
1 cube of chicken stock
oregano, rosemary, salt & pepper


I cooked the meat with the garlic, onions, mixed veges, capsicum and rice. Then I season the meat with chicken stock and some water. Make sure everything is tossed together nicely and place in a baking dish. Spread out the fresh mushroom over the top and arrange the slices of sweet potato on top. Sprinkle with oregano and rosemary, salt, pepper and some olive oil to crisp and brown the top. Bake on 180degC for about 45min. When done, turn off the heat and let it sit for about 10min so that the liquid will soak into the ingredients. Unfortunately in our house, we can’t wait 10min when our stomach’s crying out for help so we had baked chicken stew soup. It was nice anyhow you see the meal. We finished off with Christmas Pudding, loaded with lots and lots of devon custard! Wow… talk about calories… I don’t want to think about it!!!!

