>Melting Moments and then Chicken Saag for Dinner

>I decided on making Melting Moments as it seemed to be the easiest to make looking at the ingredients and methods. I didn’t take into account the ‘creaming of butter’ as I didn’t own a mixer, had to do it all by hand, but I told myself that I’m burning calories, so the 2 melting moments that I ate didn’t make me feel guilty at all! What a great feeling!

The recipe came from Women’s Weekly, where I doubled the ingredients so cater for 15 mouths, twice over at least! You can’t only pop one into your mouth, you need two, three… if you’re lucky, four moments melting in your mouth!

The ingredients are so simple:
Cookie
160g butter, chilled and cubed
2tsp vanilla essence
3tbsp icing sugar, sifted

These 3 ingredients are to be combined in a mixing bowl and then beat together till creamy.

Then add:
1 1/2 cups of plain flour
3 tbsp cornflour

Sift the two flours together and stir into the creamed butter mixture. When evenly mixed together, form into small balls and press down with the back of a fork (like below). Space them out evenly.

And in the midst of it all, I used self rising flour instead of plain flour, so it turned out like this! 😦 Haha, I was disappointed as they were for my husband’s colleagues, probably most of them trying Melting Moments for the first time, so I needed it to be perfect but alas, it wasn’t meant to be.

BUT, when he heard this, he wasn’t too fussed about it and came home early to help me put them together. The cookies had to be left to cool down as to settle and harden because they are extremely crumbly. The butter helps harden the cookie when cooled.

The icing includes:
4 1/2 tbsp icing sugar, sifted
45g butter, room temperature and soft
1 1/2 tsp milk
1 1/2 tbsp vanilla bean paste (if not, vanilla essence)

Just mix thoroughly together and place at the backs of cookies which will then be sandwiched by another cookie to make Melting Moments! Voila!


We made about 35 sandwiched Melting Moments, depending on how big you roll the balls out into. Mine were quite large (as they expanded) but they turned out quite well, visually, but for the tastebuds, they were heavenly!!!!!!! *Sigh* while melting into the chair…

Chicken Saag
My spinach were getting abit rotten being in the fridge for 1 week and Chicken Saag was on the menu. This time around, I planned to use the special meat curry powder that we brought back from our recent trip as I wasn’t satisfied with the local curry powder. It tastes horrible!

The ingredients for the lovely chicken saag are:
500g chicken, bite size pieces (I used breast meat)
4 medium onions, chopped
1 clove of garlic, chopped
1 medium size ginger, minced
500g spinach, blanched
2 tbsp curry powder
1 tsp chilli powder
2 tbsp yoghurt
salt and pepper to taste

The recipe calls for the spinach, onion, garlic and ginger to be placed in a food processor and then blended together till a puree. Since I do not have a food processor, I simply chopped the spinach, onion, garlic and ginger into small pieces and cooked them together till soft and bruised.

The spices then goes in, and then the chicken pieces, along with the yoghurt. Then I let it simmer for about 20min or so, until all the spices are infused and the spinach turn really soft. This allows the mixture to also thicken and become creamy.

We enjoyed it with lovely brown basmati rice, which fortunately took alot of the spiciness away for my husband. I did enjoy the spiciness as it is very addictive to me. I had a second helping which I could not resist! Just lovely!!!!

