>Aubergine, Chickpea & Tomato Curry

>I was craving for something hot and spicy, something that’ll burn my tongue and tingle my senses. We have so much fresh food in the fridge so I decided to use up as much as I can, putting together an aubergine, chickpea and tomato curry. This is one of my favourites which I discovered in NZ but somehow it’s not the same as the first time I made it, probably because I’ve added and subtracted a few ingredients over time! It’s still one of my favourite curries though. The ingredients are:

2 medium aubergine
1 tub cherry tomatoes
2 cups chickpea, cooked
400ml tomato puree
1 clove garlic, sliced
2 large onions, diced
1 bunch of fresh spring onions
1 bunch of fresh coriander
salt and pepper
water

Spices are:
1 1/2tsp tumeric
1 1/2tsp cumin
1 1/2tsp coriander
2 tsp chilli powder
oil for cooking

1. Fry the garlic and onion in oil until golden brown, then add in the spices.
2. Stir in the aubergine and add in more oil because aubergine needs alot of oil to cook properly. Leave to cook until most of the oil’s soaked into the aubergine. Then add in the tomato puree and water till it comes to a nice consistency, not too thick, not too watery. Add salt and pepper to taste.
3. Leave it to boil and simmer through until the aubergine’s soft. Add in chickpea, cherry tomatoes and let it simmer and water down for about 20min. Don’t let the aubergine get too soft otherwise it gets mushy.
4. When it is ready to be served, stir in the fresh herbs and don’t forget to taste! Add salt and pepper to taste.

We had our aubergine curry with plain steamed wild salmon which came out nice and tender. I steam my salmon for about 20min once the water starts to boil. I don’t like my fish half raw although that is how you should have your salmon, but everyone has their own taste and liking.

This was a big pot of curry, so we’ll be having it for the next two nights by the looks of it, accompanied with various meat dishes. And not forgetting the bolognese left over from the weekend too! Yikes! Time to pack batches to go into the fridge me thinks! Easy breezy week for me, no need to wonder what to cook for dinner!

