>Scandinavian Pork Meatballs & Roasted Pumpkin and Chickpea Salad

>Is time just slowing down or what? I’ve been stuck at home and time’s passing real slowly for me. I was looking forward to making this dinner because it’ll keep me busy – how sad was that? Anyhow, I started preparing at 4pm and it took me up to 6pm to get everything cooked and presented on the dining table just in time for the ‘click’ in the door to go off.

I looked at these recipes in Jo Seager’s cookbook ages ago, wanting to make them and I finally did. They were so easy to make, Scandinavian Pork Meatballs and Roasted Pumpkin and Chickpea Salad. Since I am sick, I didn’t include any oil in the dishes nor did I panfry/fry the meatballs as stated.

The roasted pumpkin and chickpea salad was ultra easy to make. All you need is:
1kg pumpkin (cubed and roasted)
500g chickpea (either canned or boiled)
1 medium diced red onion
5 stalks of spring onion
5 stalks of coriander
1/2cup of seeds (sunflower, pumpkin, sesame)
5 crystallised ginger
4 dried figs
rind and juice of 1 lemon
2tsp curry powder
2tsp mixed spice
salt, pepper to taste

So all you do is roast the pumpkin, boil the chickpea and chop everything else. Add the hot and the cold items together and seasonings. Toss lightly and taste.

The scandinavian pork meatballs involved:
500g mince pork (or beef/lamb)
2 medium diced onions
1 bulb of garlic
1 large eggs
salt and pepper

The sauce topping:
250g sour cream
1tbsp worchestershire sauce
1tbsp wholegrain mustard
1tbsp chopped dill

Sounds complicated but it really isn’t. It just takes some time and some love to put the meatballs together. Dice/chop all the ingredients together with the mince meat, add the egg and season. Separate the meat out and form into balls, you can either place them in the oven or fry them in a heated pan with some olive oil. If you are baking them, put them in a 190degC oven for about 30min just in case or if you’re frying, pan fry them till golden and cooked. If you baked the meatballs, put the sour cream in a sauce pan on low heat, mixing in the worchestershire sauce and wholegrain mustard, mixing them evenly together. Once the meatballs are done, drizzle the sour cream sauce on top of the meatballs and garnish with dill.

There you go, I manage to make 7 meatballs from the meat mixture, but I did make them big meatballs. It was lovely, the two dishes go so well together, you could substitute the pumpkin with kumara or add lentils or quinoa or whatever you want. A cold roasted root salad is always lovely, I had the best kumara quinoa salad made by my friend and ex-colleague Nicky Smith at RDC. I will make it one of these days, hopefully I’ll remember the ingredients. Think it involves kumara, potato, quinoa, peppers, onion, garlic, mushrooms, beans, corn and cherry tomatoes. Think there was some coriander in there too. It was LOVELY! And not forgetting the best ever carrot cake recipe, from Nicky as well. She kept on forgetting to give me the recipe and one day I told her, if she forgets again, she’ll have to make a cake for me plus, give me the recipe. And wadya know, she brought the recipe the next day! Thanks Nicky!

So it’s time for dinner now, I have to get it prepared, we still have left overs, but will be adding in some fried onion egg in there so that it’ll be dinner for two.

