>Orange Honey Cupcakes for a sweet weekend!

>Another weekend gone by, but this time, it was particularly enjoyable. We had a very lazy slow weekend, no rushing, nothing urgent, just alot of sleeping in late and breakfast in bed which is always a treat if you ask me, anytime. I made Orange Honey Cupcakes on Thursday so we could enjoy some homemade baking during the weekend. For the recipe, I only managed to make 8 muffins, they were semi large in size, but I do love the “mushroom” like muffins where it overflows at the top and create a mushroom-like muffin! I love over sized muffins! The bigger the better – but of course, the healthier, the better.

These golden cupcakess are Orange Honey Cupcakes, the ingredients are;
1 1/2cups wholemeal flour
1cup bran
2tsp baking soda
1tsp cinnamon
1tsp nutmeg
125g softened butter
2 large eggs
1/2cup brown sugar
2 large tbsp honey (I substituted with Agave Nectar)
1/2cup plain yoghurt (I substituted with skim yoghurt)
3/4cup milk (I substituted with skimmed milk)
1cup golden raisins
zest of 1 orange

1. Cream and soften the butter, sugar and honey. Beat till light and creamy, adding the eggs one at a time, beating well after each.
2. Sift the flour, baking soda and spices together, add the bran, orange zest and raisins to the dry ingredients and toss lightly with a fork.
3. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, followed by the yoghurt and milk. Fold until combined, then spoon them into muffin cups or muffin tray.
4. Bake for 20min or until the centre comes out clean in a 190degC oven.
5. Enjoy them with either custard, plain yoghurt or honey. You could top it with fresh fruits.

My husband had his cupcakes with Devon Cream Custard, his ultimate favourite. I enjoyed my cupcakes with plain yoghurt, heating the cupcakes up in the microwave for 30sec first before chomping it down with a cuppa on the side.

By the way, I was and still am sickly, taking precaution with how I prepared the food. I’ve only come into stage 2 now, with the bodyache, cold and slight cough but the cupcakes have all gone during the weekend. It was 8 between the 2 of us, for 3 days. We are loving this cupcake very much. It is healthy-ish and I calculated approximately 150 – 200 calories each muffin which is ok considering we didn’t eat properly this weekend and we spent a few hours in Mall of Emirates and Souk Madinat on Friday, then Dubai Marina Mall on Saturday where we enjoyed TGIF ribs and Starbucks coffee. I have to say that we both love the ambiance and quietness of the Marina Mall, it’s our favourite place to be for a little bit of quiet and down time. Alot of the other malls are too busy and fussy, crowded and hectic at times plus we get to enjoy JBR as well. The marina’s our second home. We had a particularly enjoyable weekend for what we managed to achieve and purchase, we came home with happy minds and happy hearts (plus sweaty beads down our backs)!

Tonight’s dinner’s going to be a new one but an oldie. Mom made it tonight for special guests at her’s so I decided to bake it as well. It’s Chicken Au Gratin, so simple and delicious! Watch out for pics tomorrow! Will get it on the way now, can’t wait.

