>Vegetable Curry with Fried Halibut, Part I and II

>My makeshift vegetable curry had a mixture of chicken curry paste (left over from the chicken curry a few weeks ago) and very rich tomato mix of paste and diced canned tomatoes. The vegetables were:

1 eggplant, 1 carrot, 1 capsicum
400g fresh mushrooms
1 can tomato paste, 1 can diced tomatoes
300g chicken curry paste
3 onions, 1 garlic clove
coriander & spring onions

It was a big pot of vegetables, just add salt and pepper to taste and dilute/simmer with enough water as you go. You can also add in some chicken or vegetable stock to taste. But the tomato gave the curry a rich red colour which is lovely, the curry paste and tomatoes gave the curry a mixture of Malay and Indian flavour to it which was different. Let the curry simmer untill all the vegetables go soft, adding the fresh mushrooms and capsicum towards the end. Once the heat’s turned off, garnish the curry with coriander and spring onions.

We bought a big (1.5kg) Halibut, surprisingly it was super fleshy. The taste was good and fresh, so I decided to fry it in compliment with the vegetable curry. The fish was too big for the pan so I had to cut it in half and I have to say that it was hard cutting through bone! We need to get a bigger chopping knife for situations like this. But the fish was lovely, it fried well. The entire meal took us into 2days worth of dinners, and still some curry left over for tonight’s dinner for one person. Was thinking to bake up some root vegetable chips and bake some crumbed prawns for my husband and I’ll stir fry up some leafy vegetables for myself.

Well, I have to say up front here and now, I don’t eat seafood except for fish and prawns now and then, abit of crab and lobster meat and if I feel like it, I will have some calamari – the best calamari starter is in Waga’s. I could eat it more than once! The way it’s crumbed, cooked and accompanied by soy and vinegar sauce, yummylicious!!

