>Lamb Mince and Feta Parcels

>What a way to end the day… we sat down and enjoyed baked lamb mince and feta parcels. I saw this on tv one day and memorised the recipe visually and decided to try it out as I still have alot of left over spring roll skin. I bought some NZ lamb mince, some red onions and fresh low fat feta cheese. I’m all for goat feta but I find that it’s abit too strong for me so I used cow feta which is abit milder.

With this recipe, its 500g of Lamb mince, but I’m sure you can use lamb meat from any country (NZ being to best), plus diced onions and garlic. Don’t season it too much, only abit of salt and pepper, as you want the lamb and feta to shine through. Don’t put in any herbs as this will create too many different flavours. Abit of thyme and rosemary should be ok, just not too much. Cook the mince over the stove until cooked then set aside to cool. I used 200g of local feta cheese, diced and tossed in with the lamb mince. I added in cabbage to the mince as I like my onions and cabbage ‘bruised’. Then add a pack of rocket into the mixture and toss gently and evenly.
Lay out each skin of either spring roll or filo pastry on the board and place spoonfuls of the mince mixture at the end in a triangle shape which will allow you to fold the pastry into triangular shapes or you could try it in spring roll shapes too. Actually have fun with any shape you feel like, depending on your playful mood.. 🙂 Lay them out on a tray lined with baking paper and then with a brush, brush the tops of the precious parcels with some olive oil for colour. You can either bake or fry the parcels, if you do fry, omit the brushing of olive oil. Place in the oven at 180deg celsius for about 30min or until the top is golden brown.


The parcels are definitely a big hit for me as we took bites of the parcel each, the filling just melted into our mouths. The feta melted in with the mince meat and thicken the meat, making it very creamy. It is up to you to either use full fat or low fat feta cheese depending on your taste and love for feta cheese. I made about 16 parcels and we have some left overs for tonight’s dinner as well. I accompanied this rich delicious parcels with plain roast vegetables comprising of sweet pumpkin, onions, garlic and capsicums drizzled with extra virgin olive oil and some salt and pepper. Simply delicious!!!!!

