Oh My Goodness! Braised Short Beef Ribs and a Blue Start to the Day

It’s raining, it’s pouring, the sunshine is snoring?

Does that sound right? I have no idea. But anyway, it is raining outside, cloudy, gloomy, wet and windy.

My kind of Day! Especially when you are indoors, nice and warm. I love the sound of rainfall. It warms the cockles of my heart, which is kinda weird because I started off my day with an exceptionally cold breakfast.

Blueberry Smoothie for a Blue Day

2013-04-06 12.03.09 2013-04-06 12.04.16

It accompanied me this morning, sippy and drippy, it was nice…but cold! Itching to finish off some ingredients in the larder, I made this beautiful blue concoction… appropriate for a blue wet day.

serves 2

4 Frozen Bananas

4 tbsp Tahini

2 cups Frozen Blueberries

1 scoop Vegan Green Protein Powder

splashes and sploshes of soy milk (just keep adding till you like the consistency of your smoothie)

Everything in the amazing Vitamix and off it went, wizzing, smoking and splattering all the way! :)

2013-04-06 12.02.47

I’m so excited about this next one, oh good gosh I am, yes sir I am, I am yes sir! Can you tell?

Eager to resurrect my failure of making this the first time (which turned out hard, chewy and downright¬†inedible), I needed to prove to myself that yes, I can make the most amazing melt in your mouth, tender, succulent, delicious, juicy short beef ribs I’ve ever attempted. With that, a lovely blog post came through with her amazing photos of her successful braised beef rib dish and that was the kick in the butt for me.

So glad I had 2 trays of short beef rib in the freezer, it took me 2 days to thaw it, an overnight marinade (store bought galbi sauce), turning once and marinade again for several hours, and then finally roasting it for 3 hours, turning once in between. I had it all planned and…

YES! They turned out super tender, super melty, fall off the bone succulent meat rib, beefy, delicious, juicy, tender… oh My Goodness sake, need-to-make-again-so help me Braised Beef Ribs!!!! We paid homage for my hard work and shared the tray between us on it’s own, with our bare hands, no cutlery allowed.

I didn’t go through the steps most bloggers/recipes call out for, I did it the easiest, cleanest and fastest way and damn, they turned out super awesome. Words just cannot describe my feelings and emotions when I had my first bite. Goodness Gracious! Not writing anymore, just enjoy the pictures!!!!

Oh My Goodness! The Most Amazing Braised Short Beef Ribs

2013-04-05 18.50.10 2013-04-05 18.50.31 2013-04-05 18.51.21 2013-04-05 18.51.45

I seriously don’t know how else to take a photo of the whole tray of ribs, I know it’s ugly but I don’t care. This is where it came from and I’m so proud of my work and patience and it worked out amazingly. So here you go!

2013-04-05 18.41.42

YUM YUM YUM! Meaty Goodness Right There!